Lifestyle

Spring Cleaning

With spring just around the corner, I thought I would get a head start on spring cleaning. Now I know some people out there get really serious about their spring cleaning and clean every possible nook and cranny in their house, but I don’t go to the extremes. I just like to freshen up my home by giving it a good once over. I feel like spring is a good time to make your home feel new again after being cooped up inside all winter. This year I’m trying a new technique I found on Pinterest, and hopefully it will be les stressful. It’s a 10 day challenge, with a different area to clean everyday. Usually when spring cleaning comes around I get really stressed out and try to get it all done in one day, but this seems really stress-free and probably wouldn’t even take more than an hour everyday.

Day One- Bedroom: I feel like this is the most time-consuming room in the house, so I’m glad I’ll be doing this room first. On the list they put the closet for day eight, so you only have to clean the main part of the room, but if you wanted to, you could get the closet done too and only have nine days of cleaning to do.

Day Two- Kitchen: This is the only area in the house that I clean everything I possibly can, so it will definitely take more than an hour.

Day Three- Bathroom: The bathroom probably shouldn’t take too long, seeing as I only have one, but if you have more than one I imagine it would take a little longer.

Day Four- Entry: Unlike many houses I’ve seen, my house opens right into the living room, so there’s not really much to do besides straighten up the shelf and coat rack.

Day Five- Living Room: I might include this in with day four when I get started because the entry way is in the living room anyways so it would take no more than 10 minutes to do.

Day Six- Drawers: I’m actually glad this is its own day because there are so many drawers in my house. Every room has some, so it will probably take about 2 hours to get them all done, but it will be well worth the work.

Day Seven- Windows: I don’t think this would take too long, unless you have a lot of very big windows, which I don’t so it will probably take close to an hour to get done.

Day Eight- Closet: My house doesn’t have too many closets, just one in every room and a small one in the bathroom, so this wont take long at all.

Day Nine- Fridge: This truly deserves its own day because there’s usually so much food that needs to be thrown out and sorted, that it takes a long time.

Day Ten- Appliances: I feel like this could take quite a while, because the appliances are used so much, I often forget to clean them like I should so the filth gets really stuck on there. The microwave will most likely take me the longest. You could probably include this when you do the kitchen so that you would have one less day to do.

If there’s anything you can’t get clean and need some help, there are a lot of very helpful tips on Pinterest. Below I pasted pictures of a few of the products I like to use to clean. Good luck with your spring cleaning, I hope this was helpful. Credits go to BuzzFeed Life. Cascade Complete ActionPacs Dishwasher Detergent Fresh Scent (choose your size)

Swiffer WetJet Mopping Kit, 7 pcClorox Disinfecting Bathroom Cleaner Spray, 30 Fluid OuncesFormula 409 All Purpose Cleaner Spray Bottle, 32 Fluid Ounces

Leave a Reply

